County County Seat Date Formed Original County Coordinator
Ada Boise  State Capitol December 22, 1864 Boise Sharon McConnel
Adams Council March 3, 1911 Washington Sharon McConnel
Alturas (defunct) 1864-1895 Original County Judy White
Bannock Pocatello March 6, 1893 Bingham Judy White
Bear Lake Paris January 5, 1875 Oneida Sharon McConnel
Benewah St. Maries January 23, 1915 Kootenai Sharon McConnel
Bingham Blackfoot January 13, 1885 Oneida Sharon McConnel
Blaine Hailey March 5, 1895 Alturas Sharon McConnel
Boise Idaho City February 4, 1864 Original County Sharon McConnel
Bonner Sandpoint February 21, 1907 Kootenai Judy White & Sharon McConnel
Bonneville Idaho Falls February 7, 1911 Bingham Sharon McConnel
Boundary Bonners Ferry January 23, 1915 Bonner Sharon McConnel
Butte Arco February 6, 1917 Bingham, Blaine, Jefferson  
Camas Fairfield February 6, 1917 Blaine Chris Storey
Caldwell March 7, 1891 Ada Sharon McConnel
Caribou Soda Springs February 11, 1919 Bannock Sharon McConnel
Cassia Burley February 29, 1879 Owyhee Chris Storey
Clark Dubois February 1, 1919 Fremont Michael G. Shaw
Clearwater Orofino February 27, 1911 Nez Perce  
Custer Challis January 8, 1881 Alturas and Lemhi Sharon McConnel
Elmore Mountain Home February 7, 1889 Alturas Sharon McConnel
Franklin Preston January 20, 1913 Oneida  
St. Anthony March 4, 1893 Bingham Sharon McConnel
Gem Emmett March 15, 1915 Boise and Canyon Sharon McConnel
Gooding Gooding January 28, 1913 Lincoln Sharon McConnel
Idaho Grangeville February 4, 1864 Original County Sharon McConnel
Jefferson Rigby February 18, 1913 Fremont  
Jerome Jerome February 8, 1919 Gooding and Lincoln Chris Storey
Kootenai Coeur d'Alene December 22, 1864 Nez Perce Judy White
Latah Moscow May 14, 1888 Nez Perce  
Lemhi Salmon January 9, 1869 Idaho Sharon McConnel
Lewis Nez Perce March 30, 1911 Sharon McConnel
Lincoln Shoshone March 18, 1913 Alturas and Blaine Chris Storey
Madison Rexburg February 18, 1913 Fremont  
Minidoka Rupert January 26, 1913 Lincoln Chris Storey
Nez Perce Lewiston February 4, 1864 Original County Sharon McConnel
Oneida Malad January 22, 1864 Original County  
Owyhee Murphy December 31, 1863 Original County Sharon McConnel
Payette Co. historic post offices
Payette Memorial Park
Payette GenWeb
Payette February 28, 1917 Canyon Kerrie Taylor
Power American Falls January 30, 1913 Bingham, Blaine, Oneida  
Shoshone Wallace February 4, 1864 Original County Randy Cummings
Teton Driggs January 26, 1915 Madison  
Twin Falls Twin Falls February 21, 1907 Cassia Chris Storey
Valley Cascade February 26, 1907 Idaho and Boise Sharon McConnel
Washington Weiser February 20, 1879 Boise Sharon McConnel

click to enlarge

Map Links -
Idaho State University Digital Atlas
Historic topo maps at Perry Castandeda Library, University of Texas
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection, University of Texas, home
Idaho at, Ray Sterner, John Hopkins University
David Ramsey Map Collection
Idaho at
USGS index of Geographic Names

original counties

Webspace for this site is generously provided by Genealogy Village and Access Genealogy

Copyright © 2013 - Sharon McConnel. All Rights Reserved.